Landscaping Project Summer 2010 – Stage 1

Last summer, quite by accident, I had my front and back yard landscaped.  It was the best home project ever.  So it was  in the first part of May, one beautiful evening my neighbour Anick phoned.  She had a visitor, and had mentioned to him about me, and my thoughts of doing some landscaping.  So enters, John W.  They both came over to my house, and within 20 minutes we had a “rough plan” for the back yard, and he was hired.  Usually I ponder things for a longer period but I am changing, and slowly becoming a new person.    Put my faith in the Universe, and went for it.  Besides once you hit the “50” mark – why not.  Go for it.  So that is exactly what I did.

A couple days later we had picked up the lumber, nails and other supplies and started the deck.  That was the starting point of this landscaping project.  Initially, we thought of extending the deck with a hour-glass shaped portion from the house to the garage.  Once we got out there, and started measuring things we realized that that was not going to work.  There would be gaps between the deck and the fence where someone (child, adult or Alvin) could fall down in between the deck and the fence.  So, change of plans.    John always thinking (as I got to know him) came up with a great plan.  Why not, just use 16 foot lengths, no cutting.  The deck would have a middle section that was attached to the deck off the house and then there would be three steps up to another tier or platform that was attached to the garage.  (You can see this better in the photos than I can explain, LOL) At the same time, he added railings off the original deck at the high end, and at the top by the garage.  Safety, always.  We made several trips to the lumber yard.  Stopping always for coffee at Starbucks.  I should also mention, and give props to my neighbour Peter (Anick’s husband) who helped John with the construction aspect of the project.  He shovelled dirt, showed off his nail gun skills, and when I had to run out for supplies with John, he graciously kept an eye on my Alvin.  Alvin has become the neighbourhood ambassador of sorts – he loves everyone and they love him.  Simple as that.

The first part of this project lasted only a few days giving me a taste of landscaping and ideas!  I am so grateful to John and Peter for building me the most beautiful deck on the planet.  It is great.  I have the space to entertain a huge crowd.

Deck project begins May 2010

 

Deck project

 

My friend Peter - great worker

 

Getting there ...... looks great.

 

Next the steps....

 

Steps going in .....

 

Alvin checking things out, making sure it is safe !!

Visitors - Anick - love the face painting

Visitors to see the new deck ..... and her Daddy (Peter). Cute butterfly.

Another Visitor - Mahee-Lee (such a great job on the face painting)

David, Peter & Anick's youngest ..... what a cute little boy.

John cleaning up after the deck was finished. YAY...

John & Peter, two of the greatest guys. They did such an awesome job on the deck.

Deck complete, what a beautiful sight. Now for the flowers.... FUN

THANK YOU JOHN & PETER ....... good times....

John added the bird house that Amanda made in high school shop class to the top of the pole. Next day we had visitors.

Well it was so much fun.  We laughed, share many a cup of coffee before the guys were off to the next venture.  Actually John moved next door to do my adjoining neighbours back yard.  There is another chapter to my landscaping story, and I will add that at a later time.  The summer of 2010 was the most fun.  Lots of jokes, coffee and hard work…..  Thank you guys…

 

Always, Carol

 

Leave a comment

Follow My New Life @ 51 on WordPress.com