Peanut Butter Treats and More…..

What you need:

(1) box brown rice crisps cereal (Koala Crisps, organic)

1 and 3/4 cups brown rice syrup

Fine sea salt

3/4 cup peanut butter (Adams Natural 100% Crunchy, unsalted)

1/2 cup carob chips or chocolate chips

Pour the rice cereal in a large bowl.  Heat the syrup with a pinch of salt in a saucepan over low heat.  When the rice syrup liquefies, add the peanut butter and stir until well combined.  Pour over the rice cereal.  Mix well with a wooden spoon.

Once thoroughly mixed and cooled to room temperature, stir in the chocolate chips.  Make sure the mixture has cooled or the chips may melt.

Turn the mixture into an 8″ x 8″ or 9″ x 13″ baking dish.  Wet your wooden spoon lightly and press the mixture evenly into the pan.  Let cool for about one hour before cutting.

Note:  I got this recipe from “THE KIND DIET” by Alicia Silverstone.  I have since modified it as I do with most recipes.  Find new versions.  I found that the mixture was wet enough that I could add some cranberry orange flavoured raisins, or just plain dried cranberries or raisins or sunflower seeds.  Just make sure that the mixture stays a bit wet so that you can press it into the pan and also so that it is not dry when eating.  The sky is the limit.  I play with the recipe.  Adding a bit more syrup and peanut butter so that the mixture is wet enough to accommodate the additional ingredients.  This is such a yummy treat and is good for you.  It does not last in my house.  If my dog, Alvin could eat it …… he would…

Also note: the Koala Crisps cereal and the Adams Natural peanut butter are just two items that I found in the local grocery store, that I love and use.

ENJOY ……. thanks Alicia …… this is so yummy.

Let me know what you think.  Comments welcomed.

Next time will remember to take a photo of this one…….

 

Leave a comment

Follow My New Life @ 51 on WordPress.com