Thought for the day …..

Good Morning and Welcome to Sunday the 7th day of February, 2016.

The sky is alive with sunshine ….. thank you.

It is not too often this winter when I have got up to sunshine.

Now we were up at 5:00 a.m. as that is when Mr. Alvin’s tummy says “it is time to eat.”

But now when we are up to stay up at just before 8:30 a.m. ….. it is so nice to see the sun.

Actually is energizing ….. which is a good thing.

Because part of me just wants to go back and lay down …. relax ….. not to think of all the things that I should be doing.

Yesterday was a good day and quite productive in many ways.

We had a great time at the International House of Pancakes.

The food was good but way too much and if I should ever enter that house again, I will know exactly what to order.

Just “three buttermilk pancakes.”

They were yummy but I left them until I was finished the other items and then could not eat much of them.

Now I know why North Americans are over weight ….

But the way that restaurant had a “wait list.”

People were giving their names and waiting in “line.”

This was at 10:00 a.m. ….. is that not crazy.

To be honest I seldom eat outside my house …..

By “weight issues” are from not enough exercise and lack of portion control.

I do try and eat  healthy except for my sweet tooth.

But even in this climate of people losing their jobs …. that place was full.

Now that may not be the case for every restaurant but I was taken aback by this sight.

It is great for the folks employed at IHOP.

By the way, the young man that served us said that IHOP is opening more restaurants in Edmonton and in other provinces.

Said young man was from British Columbia and his boss asked him to come to Edmonton to help get this location going and now he has been here for two years.

Even bought a house here ….. but soon is leaving to help with a new location in Manitoba.

I wonder if now is the time?

In a “recession/depression” …… women buy the make-up so that they will look good and men buy liquor…

Now that was from the 30’s …. I wonder if that holds true today?

Interesting.

 

Well today I am going to get booking some tea parties so that I can hold some before February is a distant memory and I want to also start canvassing for the Heart and Stroke Fund.

Easy enough to do, right?

Yes ….. time to go and have breakfast and then have some coffee.

I am also going to SKYPE with my sister after supper ….. thank goodness for that method of communication.

Next best thing to being there …. nice to actually see who you are speaking with ….. I think.

 

Well I hope that you have a great Sunday.

Take some time for you ….. whether to quietly sip on a cup of coffee or tea.

Maybe go for a walk …. take the puppy.

I guess if you are a sports fan this is a big day …. the Super Bowl ….. I always thought it was at the end of January.

 

Happy Sunday.

Special Hello to: all those folks who write …… keep up the great work.

Always, Carol and Alvin

 

Leave a Reply

Follow My New Life @ 51 on WordPress.com
