Thought for the day …..

Good Morning and Welcome to Sunday the 21st day of May, 2017.

Another glorious morning here in Edmonton.

Alvin officially has the title of “Out of bed Enforcer.”

He will do whatever it takes to get his Momma out of bed ….. this morning starting at before 4:00 a.m.

I have to just get up stay up.

Not perhaps at 4:00 a.m. but the next time he instructs me.

We are just on our way out for a morning walk …. there is plenty of sunshine and a slight breeze making it PERFECTO.

I must tell you about our yesterday ….

Yesterday it started with mowing the grass in the back, transplanting some flowers my friend “P” gave us, cleaning the back garden and the rocks.

While I was trying to dig out the rose bush that has been unhealthy for a few years …. I had to ask for help.

Just happened that Alvin noticed our neighbour “S” at her patio door ……

She was over in a second to help remove the rose bush and then ended up helping to pull out the huge shrub.

It was the centre piece of that garden but showed absolutely no signs of life.

Brown and broken …..no green.

So we dug it out.

The roots were huge.

So the garden is a mess.

Two small shrubs remain.

I cleaned the rocks.

Now it is ready for me to remove them, pull out the black cloth and fill the garden with some good soil.

So we are part way there.

I can hardly wait to go and get some flowers.

My flowers in the front bed are growing like crazy well at least most of them.

I had to pull out two that I had purchased from a nearby nursery about three years ago. ARGH.

Not sure how much dirt I am going to need.

BAGS or maybe a yard of dirt or half a yard?

How much really is a yard of dirt?

I have seen the bags that are a yard and honestly do not get it?

Well Mr. Alvin is ready for our walk and perhaps a little adventure.

Time to grab his water bottle.

Have an awesome Sunday.

We, will.

Then home after the walk – make some coffee – perhaps enjoy some on the deck under the umbrella and then bake a chocolate ginger loaf (from Steeped Tea) for the barbecue.

Happy Sunday……

YAY ….. it is summer.

No longer are we freezing in the house.

Last night it was 72 degrees in the house – 12 degrees warmer than two days ago.

Special Hello to: all those folks who take the time to follow our story ….. me and Alvin.

Always, Carol & Alvin

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Val
    May 21, 2017 @ 16:03:26

    a yard of dirt is 3ft X 3ft X 3 ft.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow My New Life @ 51 on WordPress.com
