COUNTDOWN: 60 Days to 60

Today is Friday June 16, 2017 and it is the 55 day until my 60th Birthday.

I want these 60 days leading up to my 60th Birthday to be extra special, and that is the reason for sharing my thoughts about life.

To be honest, most of my life I have learned things the hard way.

Not much has been handed to me or has come particularly easily but that is okay.

I know that each lesson, each hard knock, each step backward, each stumble has made me grow and be the person that I am today.

Now please do not misunderstand ….. my life has been pretty amazing for the most part.

I am not perfect.

That I know for sure.

I like each, and every person on this planet has moments of sheer greatness and moments of not so greatness.

That is life.

I always start each and every morning writing in a “Gratitude Journal” which has ended up being a combination GJ and Diary.

But it is so good for the soul and for your very being to write things down.

It seems to release thoughts, and make them real.

 

So my day starts like this:

Alvin kicks at the blankets ….. jumps off the bed …….  stands by the closed bedroom door and sometime lets out a small bark to let me know that he is ready to get up.

The only kicker is: it is usually anywhere between 3:30 – 4:30 a.m.

Now, this would not be so bad if I worked from home or was retired but I am neither.

So I coax him to remain in bed until closer to 4:00 or a bit later …..make the bed and then we then head downstairs ….. his water dish in tow.

Turning on lights as we go and when I reach the pantry …. I grab his glucosamine (for his joint health), and then his food.

He eats and has a drink of water before heading outside.

Depending on the time I set the timer on the microwave for some extra zzz’s on the sofa.

Usually we have time for some.

This is my favourite part of the day as Alvin lays his head on the pillow right beside me and we snuggle.

I love it.

What a wonderful way to begin the day.

After that ….. write in the journal ….. eat breakfast …… shower and get ready and then write my blog before heading back downstairs to grab my lunch, shoes, jacket and stuff and say my good-byes to me Alvin

before heading out the door.

It is a busy time.

But we are on a schedule …. so that helps.

So that is our morning routine ….. then it is on the bus to work for about one hour ……

 

WOW, cannot believe I am turning 60.

 

Always, Carol

 

 

Leave a Reply

Follow My New Life @ 51 on WordPress.com
