2021

Good Morning ALL! How are you this Monday morning? First work day with the clocks set back one hour, I would say that it was a bit easier getting up this morning. Alvin slept till 3:00 a.m. without waking up which was great. I was stumbling around in the backyard trying to find where he pooped last night (that was early evening). When we went back into the house, I texted one of my close neighbours to ask if she had two “D” batteries for a flashlight, she said “Dang it, we don’t have any D batteries, sorry.” The next words changed my life. “But your phone should have a flashlight.” A flashlight on my phone, wow, never thought of that. I texted her thank you and went to “settings” to find the flashlight. A few moments later, I found the “flashlight” and texted back to thank her profusely and then went outside to try it out. OMG, it lights the darkness so well. I had no problem seeing what I needed to see and could even shine the line for Alvin to see where he was going but I think they have better night vision than we do. That being said …. he could still step on missed poop. We wouldn’t want that. Okay I guess enough of the pooping stories. Anyway I used the flashlight at 3:00 a.m. and then again at 4:30 a.m. and I am so happy. It will make a huge difference and guess what I “did not have to spend any money, no extra money, not one cent.” I can tell you that I was doing a happy dance last night. I cannot believe that I did not know or realize that our smartphones have flashlights. Better late than never to the table, I say.

I managed to give Mr. Alvin a decent haircut and followed up with a bath yesterday. He was a bit better than normal. I also forgot to give him some anxiety medicine. Next time. I also baked some cinnamon scones and two rhubarb/apple crisps and we went for a nice walk. A good day all the way round. Ended with learning something new – the flashlight on my phone. I guess it truly is a “smart” phone. I can still remember the phones that we had one farm ….. that had a different amount of rings for each family on the line…… then the rotary phone, cordless phone, mobile phone and now “smartphones.” WOW. All this happened in my “64” years on this planet.

Well I see by the clock on the wall that it is time to head on downstairs, put on some coffee and shortly start work. I hope that you have an awesome day.

Continuing to live this life with kindness, respect, compassion, patience, understanding, love, laughter and gratitude.

Always, Carol & Alvin

Leave a comment

Follow My New Life @ 51 on WordPress.com