Second Half of the NEW YEAR.

August 2nd, 2020 and a beautiful morning.

We were first up at 5:00 and Alvin had his breakfast.

Then back to the sofa for some extra zzz’s.

It was so hot in the house yesterday that I was really wishing that I had the A/C working.

But we made it through with the help of some electric fans.

I had the windows open with a breeze coming in earlier and have already started the fans.

I can only imagine what our electric bill will be next time.

We slept until 7:00 and then were up and got ready to go for our first walk in over a week.

 

One of neighbour’s down the street, Norbert was already out trimming his hedge that lines the sidewalk before their fence wraps around the yard.

They are on the corner lot and have a huge yard.

All of the neighbours are envious of their beautiful yard and flowers and the trees.

They truly have one of the most glorious yards.

We stopped and chatted of course and when I said that Alvin has a pulled muscle in his neck, he thought something must be wrong as they had not seen us out walking.

We walk like clock work unless one of us cannot.

After catching up we were on our way.

One of the people down the street from us had not cut his grass at all this summer.

I was surprised to see it finally cut.

Norbert said he had three people out cutting the grass.

Now that person is in half of a duplex so the front yard is not huge and likely the back was in as bad shape as the front.

So I could see multiple people.

It looks like a real bad haircut.

On the upside, the weeds are cut down.

Hopefully he keeps it cut.

Another neighbour, in fact, a young woman had some work done in the front yard.

She added some shrubs and some beautiful little solar lights and wood chips in the front lining the sidewalk from her house to the street.

Looks so good.

Man, so many changes since we were out last walking.

I miss seeing everyone’s flowers and chatting with folks.

We saw a couple sitting on their front porch enjoying “breakfast,” I would assume.

Although this morning Norbert was the only person we knew out.

There were a couple out for a morning run and then on the way home, a lady was out for a morning stroll.

Funny story, while we were out, we or actually I noticed this squirrel with a white belly on these huge rocks in the front yard of a neighbours a few blocks away from our house.

The squirrel was sitting and then would run a bit and then stop and then I noticed there were two black cats watching him with anticipation of what …. well who knows.

Likely not good.

They were on long leashes out enjoying the cool morning air.

So no immediate danger to the squirrel.

But I noticed the squirrel and the cats noticed the squirrel but not Mr. Alvin.

He was just sniffing away.

 

We had the best walk.

Enjoying the sights and smells of the flowers along the way.

 

Well I am going to make pancakes for breakfast before the heat really sets in for the day.

I guess this is going to be an easy not much going on kind on day.

But later our friend Alison is dropping off puppy Bailey for a couple of hours as she has an outing.

Bailey is busy so I will be busy.

 

I have some craft projects that I am working on so that will keep me busy for the day.

Something not requiring a lot of running about.

 

Well time to get this day underway ….. well to have coffee and breakfast.

I hope that you are keeping cool and enjoying your weekend.

We are so grateful to be feeling well and for the walk, it was absolutely glorious.

Another hot one on the way, 30 degrees celsius.

Then tomorrow 23 or 24 degrees celsius.

That will feel cold, wild laughter !!

 

Living my life with kindness and respect for all.

I/We shall remain,

As Always, Mr. Alvin and Carol

 

 

Leave a comment

Follow My New Life @ 51 on WordPress.com